Skip to main content


Legal form

RWI operates as a legally independent registered association. Members of the association can be companies and corporations under public law as well as social and economic organizations interested in the goals of the institute. Members pay an annual membership fee, the amount of which is left to their own discretion. The minimum membership fee is set annually by the General Assembly and currently amounts to 1,300 euros. Membership fees are donations for charitable purposes for the promotion of science. 

The statutory bodies of the association are: 

The Research Advisory Board acts as an advisory body. 

General Meeting

The general meeting has the following main tasks:  

  • Receipt of the annual report of the Board of Directors  
  • Adoption of resolutions on the annual financial statements, discharge of the Governing Board and the Board of Directors 
  • Election of the members of the Governing Board as well as the auditor 
  • Passing resolutions on amendments to the Articles of Association as well as the dissolution of the Association. 

Governing Board

The Governing Board shall consist of at least 11, but no more than 16 persons, to be elected, if possible, from among the members, who are qualified to safeguard and promote the interests of the Institute.


Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff
Chairwoman of the Governing Board of RWI,
President of the University of Wuppertal

Manfred Breuer
Vice Chairman of the Governing Board of RWI, President of the Society of Friends and Sponsors of RWI - Leibniz Institute for Economic Research, Chairman of the Executive Board of Commerzbank AG, Düsseldorf Branch i.R.

Prof. Dr. Claudia M. Buch
Vice Chairwoman of the Governing Board of RWI,
Vice President Deutsche Bundesbank  

Reinhold Schulte
Deputy Chairman of the Administrative Board of RWI, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of SIGNAL IDUNA Group

Dr. Stefan Dietzfelbinger
Chief Executive of the Lower Rhine Chamber of Industry and Commerce Duisburg-Wesel-Kleve to Duisburg

Knut Giesler
IG Metall, District Manager North Rhine-Westphalia

Prof. Dr. Hans Jörg Hennecke
Chief Executive HANDWERK.NRW

Ronald Janßen-Timmen
Chairman of the Works Council of RWI

Dr. Thomas A. Lange
Chairman of the Executive Board of National-Bank AG

Dr.-Ing. Herbert Lütkestratkötter
Former Chairman of the Executive Board of Hochtief AG

Prof. Dr. Dr. hc. Martin Paul
Rector of the Ruhr University Bochum

Prof. Dr. Claudia Peus
Vice President TU Munich

Dr. Stefan Profit
Representative of the responsible department of the Federal Government, Head of Subdepartment IC Macroeconomic Development, Analyses and Projections at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Helmut Schiffer
Chairman of the Board of Sparkasse Essen

Dr. Martin Sonnenschein
Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG

Gonca Türkeli-Dehnert
State Secretary in the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia