RWI Positionen

RWI Positionen 76

Corona-Krisenmanagement im Gesundheitswesen

by Boris Augurzky and Christoph M. Schmidt

03/2020, 11 S./p., 8 Euro

download

Abstract

The industrialised world is currently experiencing a unique crisis situation due to the pandemic caused by SARS-CoV-2 („corona virus“). This RWI position sets out seven re- commendations for a strategy to deal with the acute challenge in the health care system. Their key points are:
I. Reducing need of treatment: In order to avoid a rapid overloading of treatment capacities, targeted measures should slow down the spread of the virus. The main focus should be on supporting and isolating high-risk patients.
II. Capacity expansion: On the supply side, the quick procurement and organisation of additional treatment capacities - beds, equipment, personnel - must be the highest priority. In addition, the prerequisites should be created such that, in the event of a crisis escalating, medium-heavy courses of disease can be treated outside hospitals if possible. This could be achieved by setting up coordinated pools of equipment and by providing specialist instruction or online support for volunteers such as relatives or neighbours.
III. Capacity utilisation: Existing capacity must not be left idle when needed. For this reason, bureaucratic requirements should be temporarily suspended, reimbursement of lost revenues promised and incentives should be provided for hospitals to keep the length of stay of COVID patients as short as possible.

Up

RWI Positionen

RWI Positionen 76

Corona-Krisenmanagement im Gesundheitswesen

von Boris Augurzky und Christoph M. Schmidt

03/2020, 11 S./p., 8 Euro

download

Zusammenfassung

Die industrialisierte Welt erlebt zurzeit aufgrund der von SARS-CoV-2 („Corona-Virus“) ausgelösten Pandemie eine einmalige Krisensituation. Die vorliegende RWI Position stellt sieben Empfehlungen für eine Strategie zum Umgang mit der akuten Herausforderung im Gesundheitswesen auf. Ihre Eckpunkte sind:
I. Bedarfsdämpfung: Um Behandlungskapazitäten nicht rapide zu überlasten, sollten zielgerichtet eingesetzte Maßnahmen die Verbreitung des Virus verlangsamen. Schwer- punkt ist dabei die Unterstützung und Abschottung von Risikopatienten.
II. Kapazitätsausweitung: Auf der Angebotsseite muss die schnelle Beschaffung und Organisation von zusätzlichen Behandlungskapazitäten – Betten, Geräte, Personal – die höchste Priorität haben. Zudem sollten die Voraussetzungen dafür geschaffen werden, dass bei krisenhafter Zuspitzung mittelschwere Verläufe möglichst außerhalb von Kran- kenhäusern behandelt werden können. Dies gelänge durch die Einrichtung koordinierter Gerätepools sowie die fachliche Einweisung oder Online-Unterstützung von freiwilligen Helfern wie Angehörigen oder Nachbarn.
III. Kapazitätsauslastung: Vorhandene Kapazität darf im Bedarfsfall nicht brachliegen. Daher sollten bürokratische Vorgaben befristet ausgesetzt, die Erstattung von Erlösaus- fällen zugesagt und den Krankenhäusern Anreize gesetzt werden, die Verweildauer der COVID-Patienten möglichst gering zu halten.

Hoch