Leibniz Science Campus Ruhr

Overview

Leibniz Science Campus Ruhr (LSCR) is a research collaboration focussed on “Health care challenges in regions with declining and ageing populations”. Its aim is to analyse the causes and consequences of regional differences in health care, deriving policies to address the impending under-provision of health care and evaluating selected measures to improve the efficiency of health-care provision.

Specifically LSCR focusses on the three following research areas: (1) Regional Variations in Health Care: The demand and supply of health care displays large regional variation. The LSCR studies the reasons of this variation and assesses its consequences for health policy. (2) Sustainability of Supply: The demographic change will lead to a decline in the number of qualified health-care personnel. We analyse the consequences of this development for health care provision to find solutions for ensuring access to ambulatory medical care in rural areas. (3) Prevention: Given that health-care resources are dwindling, one way to maintain high quality health care is reducing demand. In this context disease prevention and understanding the demand for health care is becoming increasingly important.

LSCR combines the long-standing health economic expertise of the RWI – Leibniz Institute of Economic Research, the University of Duisburg-Essen, and Tilburg University and creates the first research community in Germany to focus on health care in demographically declining regions. It is funded by the Leibniz Association and exhibits a vivid network of external partners (AOK-NordWest, DRV-Westfalen, Maternus-Klinik Bad Oeynhausen, and WINEG).

Team

Ansgar Wübker

Speaker

More

Thomas Bauer

Board Member

More

Martin Karlsson

Board Member

More

Jürgen Wasem

Board Member

More
 

Boris Augurzky

Researcher

More

Sibel Altin

Researcher

More

Barbara Buchberger

Researcher

More

Dörte Heger

Researcher

More

Martin Salm

Researcher

More

Hendrik Schmitz

Researcher

More

Magdalena A. Stroka-Wetsch

Researcher

More

Anke Walendzik

Researcher

More
 

Doctoral Students

Simon Decker

Doctoral Student

More

Anne Günnel

Doctoral Student

More

Alexander Haering

Doctoral Student

More

Laura Krabbe

Doctoral Student

More

Anne Mensen

Doctoral Student

More

Ieva Sriubaite

Doctoral Student

More

Matthias Westphal

Doctoral Student

More
 

Claudia Lohkamp

Project Assistant
Phone +49 (201) 8149-221

Speaker:

Prof. Dr. Ansgar Wübker
Phone +49 (201) 8149-242
Fax +49 (201) 8149-200


More

Up

Leibniz Science Campus Ruhr

Überblick

Der Leibniz Science Campus Ruhr (LSCR) ist eine Forschungskooperation mit dem thematischen Schwerpunkt "Herausforderungen im Gesundheitswesen in Regionen mit sinkenden Bevölkerungszahlen und alternder Bevölkerung". Ziel ist es, die Ursachen und Konsequenzen regionaler Unterschiede im Gesundheitswesen zu analysieren, Strategien zur Bewältigung der drohenden Unterversorgung im Gesundheitswesen zu identifizieren und ausgewählte Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Effizienz der Gesundheitsversorgung zu bewerten.

Insbesondere stehen am Campus die drei folgenden Forschungsbereiche im Fokus: (1) Regionale Unterschiede im Gesundheitswesen: Das Angebot und die Nachfrage von Gesundheitsleistungen weisen große regionale Unterschiede auf. Dieser Forschungsbereich untersucht die Gründe für diese Unterschiede und bewertet ihre Konsequenzen für die Gesundheitspolitik. (2) Nachhaltigkeit der Versorgung: Der demografische Wandel wird zu einem Rückgang an qualifizierten Mitarbeitern im Gesundheitswesen führen. Wir analysieren die Konsequenzen dieser Entwicklung für die Gesundheitsversorgung, um Lösungen für den Zugang zur ambulanten Versorgung im ländlichen Raum zu finden. (3) Prävention: Angesichts der Tatsache, dass die Ressourcen für die Gesundheitsversorgung schwinden, ist eine Möglichkeit, eine hohe Qualität der Gesundheitsversorgung weiterhin zu gewährleisten, die Senkung der Nachfrage. In diesem Zusammenhang werden die Verhütung von Krankheiten und das Verständnis der Nachfrage nach Gesundheitsversorgung immer wichtiger.

LSCR verbindet die langjährige gesundheitsökonomische Expertise des RWI-Leibniz-Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung, der Universität Duisburg-Essen und der Universität Tilburg und schafft dadurch die erste Forschungsgemeinschaft in Deutschland, die sich auf die Gesundheitsversorgung in demografisch rückläufigen Regionen konzentriert. Der Campus wird von der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft gefördert und verfügt über ein lebendiges Netzwerk von externen Partnern (AOK-NordWest, DRV-Westfalen, Maternus-Klinik Bad Oeynhausen und WINEG).

Team

Ansgar Wübker

Sprecher

Mehr

Thomas Bauer

Vorstandsmitglied

Mehr

Martin Karlsson

Vorstandsmitglied

Mehr

Jürgen Wasem

Vorstandsmitglied

Mehr
 

Boris Augurzky

Wissenschaftler

Mehr

Sibel Altin

Wissenschaftlerin

Mehr

Barbara Buchberger

Wissenschaftlerin

Mehr

Dörte Heger

Wissenschaftlerin

Mehr

Martin Salm

Wissenschaftler

Mehr

Hendrik Schmitz

Wissenschaftler

Mehr

Magdalena A. Stroka-Wetsch

Wissenschaftlerin

Mehr

Anke Walendzik

Wissenschaftlerin

Mehr
 

Doktoranden

Simon Decker

Doktorand

Mehr

Anne Günnel

Doktorandin

Mehr

Alexander Haering

Doktorand

Mehr

Laura Krabbe

Doktorandin

Mehr

Anne Mensen

Doktorandin

Mehr

Ieva Sriubaite

Doktorandin

Mehr

Matthias Westphal

Doktorand

Mehr
 

Claudia Lohkamp

Projektassistentin
Tel. +49 (201) 8149-221

Sprecher:

Prof. Dr. Ansgar Wübker
Tel. +49 (201) 8149-242
Fax +49 (201) 8149-200


Mehr

Hoch