Environment and Resources

Research Focus

Environmental and Energy Policy

This research focus addresses environmental and energy policy measures using modern methods of evaluation research and microeconometric analysis. We employ a comprehensive approach that covers all steps of the evaluation process: study design, survey implementation, data analysis, and policy recommendations. Throughout the process, we maintain a tight connection to practice, ensured through regular consultation with stakeholders and verification activities in the field.

RWI’s research covers both domestic energy issues as well as international topics. The institute has established itself as a leading authority on the evaluation of policy interventions that address the poverty-environment nexus in developing countries. As of January 2015, a dedicated research group, "Climate Change in Developing Countries", investigates issues affecting both households and small businesses in the fight against poverty, including access to energy and microfinance.

On the domestic front, the promotion of renewable energy in Germany as well as the voluntary commitment of German industry to climate protection and energy efficiency are other areas of inquiry in which RWI plays a highly visible role. Since the promulgation of voluntary climate protection agreements of German industry more than a decade ago, RWI has monitored these commitments scientifically on behalf of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries and federal ministries. This work includes the review of annual reports that document progress toward industry commitments to successively increase energy efficiency. The European Commission places a high priority on timely monitoring as the ultimate basis for the approval of the aid via offsets of the electricity tax.

Not least, the research department addresses the impact of technology transfer and technology development in environmental protection.

Environmental, Energy and Resource Economics

At the center of this research is the study of energy consumption and demand patterns of households, focusing primarily on individual mobility and residential electricity use. A cross-cutting theme is the analysis of rebound effects, which refer to the behavioral responses of individuals to improved technological efficiency. With respect to driving, for example, efficiency improvements that lower the per-kilometer costs of driving may encourage motorists to drive more, thereby offsetting the emissions reduction that would have otherwise occurred. RWI has been involved in several projects on this topic, leading to numerous publications in the energy and transport journals.

This research has been supported by an ambitious and on-going effort to assemble panel data on the energy consumption of private households. Building on data collected for the years 2003 to 2010, this representative dataset was recently expanded to include 8500 households for the years 2011 up to 2013 under the commission of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) and in cooperation with the polling institute forsa. In addition to surveying households on their energy consumption, data is collected about their living conditions and socio-economic characteristics. The resulting assembly of data allows a multitude of scientific studies that extends beyond energy consumption to also include the implications of Germany’s Energiewende for the energy cost burden of low-income households.

In addition, the department deals with behavioral economic issues related to environmental and energy consumption. This includes the examination of non-financial mechanisms for changing consumer behavior, such as the provision of energy-saving tips.

Finally, RWI is a participant of the subproject A3, "Dynamic modeling of production technologies", which is a component of the Collaborative Research Center SFB 823 "Statistical modeling of nonlinear dynamic processes", a project funded by the German Science Foundation.

Up

Umwelt und Ressourcen

Schwerpunkte

Umwelt- und Energiepolitik

Im Fokus dieses Schwerpunkts steht die Evaluierung von umwelt- und energiepolitischen Maßnahmen und Instrumenten mittels moderner Metho­den der Evaluationsforschung sowie mikroökonometrischer Analysen. Generell zeichnet sich die Arbeit des Kompetenzbereichs, wie auch die des RWI insgesamt, durch einen umfassenden Evaluierungsansatz aus, der vom Studiendesign über die Durchführung der Erhebung und Datenanalyse bis zur Formulierung praxisorientierter Empfehlungen weite Teile des Evaluierungsprozesses abdeckt. Zugleich wird teils durch Gutachtertätigkeiten vor Ort der Kontakt zur Praxis gehalten.

Das RWI hat sich zu einem der ersten Ansprechpartner für die evidenzbasierte Evaluation von Energie- und Umweltprojekten in Entwicklungsländern entwickelt. Untersuchungsgegenstand verschiedener Studien ist die Bedeutung der Versorgung von Haushalten und Kleinbetrieben mit Energie für den Kampf gegen die Armut. Diese Forschung wird seit Januar 2015 in der Forschungsgruppe „Klimawandel in Entwicklungsländern“ gebündelt.

Mit der kritischen wissenschaftlichen Begleitung der Förderung der erneuerbaren Energien in Deutschland sowie der freiwilligen Selbstverpflichtungen der deutschen Industrie zu Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienz spielt das RWI eine weithin sichtbare Rolle. Seit Verkündung der freiwilligen Klimaschutzvereinbarungen der deutschen Industrie vor mehr als einem Jahrzehnt begleitet das RWI diese Selbstverpflichtungen wissenschaftlich. So wird derzeit auf Basis jährlicher Berichte die Vereinbarung zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz überprüft. In dieser Vereinbarung hat die Wirtschaft zugesagt, den spezifischen Energieverbrauch  der Unternehmen des Produzierenden Gewerbes sukzessive zu reduzieren. Diese Arbeit ist von besonderer Bedeutung, da die EU-Kommission das zeitnahe Monitoring als die entscheidende Grundlage für die Beihilfegenehmigung des Spitzenausgleichs bei der Stromsteuer ansieht.

Der Kompetenzbereich befasst sich nicht zuletzt auch mit den Auswirkungen von Technologietransfer und Technologieentwicklung im Umweltschutz.

Umwelt-, Energie- und Ressourcenökonomik

Im Zentrum dieses Forschungsschwerpunktes steht die Erforschung des Energieverbrauchs- bzw. Nachfrageverhaltens der privaten Haushalte, nicht zuletzt in Bezug auf individuelle Mobilität. So beschäftigte sich der Kompetenzbereich insbesondere mit der Analyse von Rebound-Effekten. Diese bezeichnen die Verhaltensänderungen von Individuen als Folge von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der technologischen Effizienz. So führen geringere Kosten je Kilometer dazu, dass tendenziell mit einem Benzin sparenden neuen Pkw mehr gefahren wird als mit einem weniger effizienten Auto. Die Beschäftigung mit diesem Forschungsthema im Rahmen von mehreren Projekten hat zu zahlreichen Publikationen in Energie- und Transport-Journals geführt.

Aufbauend auf in der Vergangenheit erhobenen Panel-Daten zum Energieverbrauch der privaten Haushalte für die Jahre 2003 bis 2010 wird dieser repräsentative Paneldatensatz fortwährend weiter ausgebaut. So wurden jüngst im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) und in Kooperation mit dem Umfrageinstitut forsa die Angaben von rund 8 500 privaten Haushalten für die Jahre 2011 bis 2013 ergänzt. Neben dem Energieverbrauch der privaten Haushalte wurden ihre Wohnverhältnisse und sozioökonomischen Charakteristika erhoben. Der so etablierte Paneldatensatz erlaubt vielfältige wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen. Ausgewertet wurden die Daten u.a., um die Energiekostenbelastung einkommensschwacher Haushalte zu ermitteln.

Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sich der Kompetenzbereich mit verhaltensökonomischen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Umwelt- und Energieverbrauch. So werden nicht-finanzielle Möglichkeiten zur Veränderung des Verbraucherverhaltens, etwa durch Energieeinspartipps, auf den tatsächlichen Energieverbrauch der privaten Haushalte untersucht.

Schließlich ist das RWI mit dem Teilprojekt A3 „Dynamische Modellierung von Produktionstechnologien“ am Sonderforschungsbereich SFB 823 „Statistik nichtlinearer dynamischer Prozesse“ beteiligt.

Hoch