Jobs & Internships

Internships at RWI

RWI offers internships to work with scientists on various projects in the different research divisions of the institute.

What can you expect?

You are directly involved in a scientific project and gain experiences in implementing a project “from scratch”. You will learn how to prepare data, carry out empirical analysis, and write scientific reports. Working with a friendly and competent team of experienced scientists, you will gain insights into economic consulting.

What we expect?

At least 4 semesters of study in the field of economics at a university; basic knowledge in the division’s field of research; interest in scientific work and in economic questions; experience with literature and internet research; good command of English; working knowledge of MS Office programs; Knowledge of econometrics would be advantageous.

Where will you work?

In Essen or Berlin.

What is the duration of the internship?

We offer internships for the duration of up to three months.

Will I get a payment?

You can either complete a full time internship (39.83 hours/week), for which you will receive an allowance of EUR 300.00 per month. Alternatively – you may complete a part-time internship (19 hours/week), which is compensated with EUR 150.00 per month. Please note, that during the academic terms, only part-time internships are offered.

How should I apply for an internship?

Please send the application form for an internship (rtf-file, dotx-file or pdf-file) together with curriculum vitae, university transcript, and other relevant background information to

RWI
Praktikumsbewerbung
Hohenzollernstr. 1-3
45128 Essen, Germany

or

If you send your application by email, please try to copy all documents in one file. Please note that data sent by email will be not encrypted and therefore could be read and falsified by unauthorized persons. We also accept paper applications sent by post.

You are requested at least three months before you plan to start your internship at RWI. Please note that the internal review procedure will last up to 8 weeks, depending on the possible placements and the number of applicants.

 

RWI – Leibniz-Institute for Economic Research is an independent, non-profit research institution based in Germany. Through its research, RWI provides evidence-based policy advice to political and economic entities and fosters economic literacy among the wider public. The Climate Change in Developing Countries research group is part of the Environment and Resources department. The group conducts research and evaluation in developing countries and analyses the relationship between poverty reduction and access to modern energy and water, local environmental conditions, and microfinance. As a leading institution for evidence-based analysis of poverty and its drivers, the research group has conducted a wide range of development project evaluations worldwide – but primarily on the African continent - on behalf of the German International Cooperation GIZ, World Bank, UN and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The institute is offering a

Three-month research internship position with stay in Senegal

to support a research project of the Climate Change in Developing Countries research group. The research project is financed by the “Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung” and aims at understanding the charcoal supply chain in Senegal spanning the rural production sides to the urban vendors. Charcoal plays an important role in many developing countries since it constitutes a major cooking fuel for urban areas and at the same time an important income source for rural households. However, there is very little knowledge on the value chain of charcoal in terms of economic relevance and environmental consequences. The central task will be the supervision of the data collection along the entire charcoal value chain, from producers over transporters and traders to final vendors in Dakar.

The internship is expected to take place from the mid of October 2019 to mid of January 2020. During this time, the intern will have the opportunity to do field research in Senegal for four to six weeks. The data collection takes place in Dakar and involves regular travelling to and staying in rural areas. It is the task of the student to accompany the data collection that is jointly implemented with a Senegalese partner, ensure data quality, assist interviews and collect additional qualitative information. Before the stay in the field it is planned that the intern supports the preparation of the data collection in Essen. After the stay in the field it would be desirable to continue the internship in Essen to support the data analysis and the reporting.

Our team is looking for a student interested in empirical, quantitative research. In addition to interest in development policy, knowledge of empirical work (econometrics/ statistics and study design) is helpful. At a minimum, there should be an increased willingness to acquire them. Furthermore, good French and English skills are required. RWI will pay a monthly lump sum and all travel costs associated with the data collection in Senegal.  

Please direct questions or, if you are interested, a short letter of motivation as well as a CV and transcripts of record, by email until September 13th 2019 to

RWI – Leibniz-Institute for Economic Research
Julian Rose
Postfach 10 30 54, 45030 Essen,
// ">
For further information on the institute see http://www.en.rwi-essen.de

Up

Jobs & Praktika

Praktikum beim RWI

Das RWI bietet Praktikumsplätze in den Kompetenzbereichen des Instituts zur Mitarbeit in verschiedenen Projekten an.

Was erwartet Sie?

Sie werden direkt in ein wissenschaftliches Projekt eingebunden und gewinnen Erfahrung in der Bearbeitung derartiger Projekte „von der Pike auf“. Sie lernen, wie man Daten für ein Projekt aufbereitet, empirische Analysen durchführt und wissenschaftliche Texte schreibt. Sie bekommen Einblick in die wirtschaftspolitische Beratung. Sie arbeiten in einem netten und kompetenten Team von erfahrenen Wissenschaftlern.

Was erwarten wir?

Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften an einer Universität im 4. oder einem höheren Fachsemester; Grundkenntnisse in dem angestrebten Forschungsbereich; Interesse am wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten; Interesse an wirtschaftspolitischen Fragestellungen; Erfahrungen bei der Literatur- und Internetrecherche; gute Englischkenntnisse; gute Kenntnisse der MS Office-Anwendungen; Ökonometriekenntnisse sind von Vorteil.

Wo werden Sie eingesetzt?

In Essen oder Berlin.

Wie lange dauert ein Praktikum?

Ein Praktikum dauert bis zu 3 Monaten.

Erhalte ich eine Vergütung?

Sie können ein Vollzeit-Praktikum (39,83 Stunden/Woche) absolvieren, dafür erhalten Sie eine Aufwandsentschädigung von 300 Euro pro Monat. Alternativ - und während des Semesters obligatorisch – können Sie ein Teilzeit-Praktikum absolvieren (19 Stunden/Woche), hierfür erhalten Sie eine Aufwandsentschädigung von 150 Euro pro Monat.

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Bitte senden Sie den RWI-Bewerbungsbogen (rtf-Format, dotx-Format oder pdf-Format) mit Lebenslauf sowie Kopien der wichtigsten Zeugnisse und bisherigen Studienergebnisse an:

RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung
Praktikumsbewerbung
Hohenzollernstr. 1-3
45128 Essen

oder per

Bei einer Bewerbung per E-Mail fügen Sie bitte – wenn möglich – alle Dokumente in einer Datei zusammen. Bitte beachten Sie bei der Übersendung Ihrer Bewerbung per E-Mail, dass bei diesem Übermittlungsweg Ihre Daten unverschlüsselt sind und unter Umständen von Unbefugten zur Kenntnis genommen oder auch verfälscht werden könnten. Gerne können Sie uns Ihre Unterlagen per Post zukommen lassen.

Wir bitten Sie, sich möglichst drei Monate vor dem geplanten Beginn des Praktikums zu bewerben. Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass die interne Bearbeitung – je nach Vergabemöglichkeit und Bedarf – bis zu acht Wochen dauern kann.

 

Das RWI- Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung ist eine unabhängige und gemeinnützige Einrichtung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung. Die Arbeiten des Instituts liefern Politik und Wirtschaft fundierte Entscheidungsgrundlagen und fördern in der Öffentlichkeit das Verständnis für wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge. Die Forschungsgruppe „Klimawandel in Entwicklungsländern“ ist Teil des Kompetenzbereiches „Umwelt und Ressourcen“. Sie führt Forschungs- und Evaluierungsprojekte in Entwicklungsländern durch und analysiert die Zusammenhänge zwischen Armutsreduzierung und Energiezugang, lokalen Umweltbedingungen, Wasserzugang und Mikrofinanzierung. Die Forschungsgruppe hat weltweit - jedoch vorwiegend auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent - eine Vielzahl von Evaluierungen im Auftrag von GIZ, Weltbank, UN und dem Niederländischen Außenministerium durchgeführt.

Das Institut schreibt ein

Dreimonatiges Forschungspraktikum mit Aufenthalt im Senegal

zur Mitarbeit an einem Forschungsprojekt der Forschungsgruppe „Klimawandel in Entwicklungsländern“ aus. Die Studie wird finanziert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung. Anhand einer Erhebung von primär Daten untersuchen wir die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von Holzkohle im Senegal. Holzkohle spielt in vielen Entwicklungsländern eine zentrale Rolle, da es zum einem ein wichtiger Energieträger für städtische Haushalte ist und zum anderem eine wichtige Einkommensquelle für ländliche Haushalte darstellt. Um die ökonomische Relevanz von Holzkohle sowie die Umweltfolgen der Produktion zu untersuchen, erheben wir primär Daten von Produzenten in ländlichen Regionen, Transporteuren, Zwischenhändlern bis hin zu kleinen Händlern in Dakar.

Das Praktikum findet voraussichtlich von Mitte Oktober 2019 bis Mitte Januar 2020 statt. Innerhalb dieses Zeitraumes wird der/die Praktikant/in für einen vier bis sechswöchigen Aufenthalt in den Senegal reisen, um die Datenerhebung zu betreuen. Die konkreten Aufgaben beinhalten neben der organisatorischen Betreuung der Studie vor Ort die Unterstützung bei Interviewer-Schulungen, Datenqualitätskontrolle, die Begleitung von Haushaltsinterviews und das Sammeln von qualitativen Eindrücken. Vor dem Aufenthalt im Senegal ist geplant, dass der/die Praktikant/in die Vorbereitung der Studie unterstützt, am besten von unserem Essener Büro aus. Die Aufenthalte im Senegal finden in Dakar und im Feld (d.h. in ländlichen Gebieten) statt. Anschließend ist eine Mitarbeit bei der Datenanalyse am RWI möglich. Die Arbeitszeiten und der Arbeitsort für die Aufgaben in Deutschland im Anschluss an die Datenerhebung wären flexibel gestaltbar. Auch die Erstellung einer akademischen Abschlussarbeit (Bachelor-, Masterarbeit o.ä.) im Rahmen des Projektes ist generell möglich.

Unser Team sucht eine/n Student/in mit Interesse an empirischer, quantitativer Forschung. Neben Interesse an entwicklungspolitischen Fragestellungen sind Kenntnisse des empirischen Arbeitens (Ökonometrie/ Statistik und Studiendesign) hilfreich. Zumindest sollte die gesteigerte Bereitschaft bestehen, sich diese anzueignen. Des Weiteren sind gute Französisch- und Englisch-Kenntnisse erforderlich. Das RWI bezahlt ein monatliches Praktikantengehalt sowie alle Kosten, die für den Aufenthalt im Senegal anfallen. Die Beachtung der Schwerbehindertenrichtlinien und der Vorschriften des Gesetzes über Teilzeitarbeit ist gewährleistet. Wir fördern die berufliche Gleichstellung aller Geschlechter.

Bei Fragen oder Interesse wenden Sie sich bitte mit einem kurzen Motivationsschreiben sowie einem Lebenslauf und einer Studienleistungsübersicht per Email unter der Angabe der Kennziffer 70514-16/19P bis zum 13. September 2019 an

RWI – Leibniz Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung
Herrn Julian Rose
Postfach 10 30 54, 45030 Essen,
// ">
Nähere Informationen zum Institut unter
http://www.rwi-essen.de

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Übersendung Ihrer Bewerbung per E-Mail, dass bei diesem Übermittlungsweg Ihre Daten unverschlüsselt sind und unter Umständen von Unbefugten zur Kenntnis genommen oder auch verfälscht werden könnten. Gerne können Sie uns Ihre Unterlagen per Post zukommen lassen.

Weitere Informationen

Hoch