RWI Scientific Advisory Board

Lars P. Feld

Lars P. feld

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011

Lars P. Feld is director of the Walter-Eucken Institute and Professor of Economic Policy at the University of Freiburg. He studied economics at Saarland University (1987-1993) and received his Ph.D. and habilitation from the University St. Gallen. From 2002 to 2006, he was Professor of Public Finance at Philipps-University of Marburg, thereafter he held the Chair of Public Economics at Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg until 2010. In 2011, he was appointed to the German Council of Economic Experts. He also is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board to the German Federal Finance Ministry as well as a full member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. In 2007, Lars P. Feld was appointed as expert for the Commission of the Bundestag and Bundesrat for modernizing fiscal relations between the federal and state governments in the Federal Republic of Germany (Federalism Commission II). In addition, he is managing editor of the Perspektiven der Wirtschaftspolitik. His research focuses on several areas of Public Finance, Political Economics, Law and Economics and Psychological Economics. His research is published in numerous refereed journals like Public Choice, European Economic Review and Journal of Public Economics.

Stefan Felder

Stefan Felder

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011; Vice chairman since 2015

Stefan Felder is Professor of Health Economics at the University of Basel. He received his Ph.D. (1989) and his habilitation (1995) from the University of Bern. From 1997 to 2008 he was Professor of Health Economics at the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg and from 2008 to 2010 he held the Chair of Economics, in particular Health Economics, at the University Duisburg-Essen. Stefan Felder is executive secretary of the German Health Economics Association and of the European Association of Health Economics. His research, which centers on health economics and applied microeconomics, is published in high-ranking journals, for example in the Journal of Health Economics, the Journal of Population Economics or the German Economic Review.

Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2015

Since 2012 Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz has been head of the Institute for Mathematical Methods in Economics at the Vienna University of Technology, which was renamed in 2015 to the Institute for Stochastics and Mathematical Methods in Economics due to a merger with another institute. Since 2008 she is professor for Mathematical Economics at the Vienna University of Technology. She received her PhD in 1992 from the Vienna University of Technology and obtained the venia legendi in 1998. Before coming back to Vienna in 2003 to work at the Vienna Institute of Demography as deputy director and head of the research group on Population Economics, she worked at the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research in Rostock as the head of the research group on Population, Economy and Environment for five years. Her main fields of research are in the analysis of long-run population and economic development, macroeconomic consequences of an ageing population and agent-based modelling. The results of her research have been published in Demography, Journal of Economic Growth or Macroeconomic Dynamics.

Timo Goeschl

Timo Goeschl

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011

Since 2005, Timo Goeschl has been Executive Director of the Research Center for Environmental Economics at the University of Heidelberg where he also holds the Chair of Environmental Economics. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Cambridge in 2000. Following a postdoc at University College London, Timo Goeschl was appointed University Lecturer in Environmental Economics at Cambridge before joining the faculty of the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2003. He is a member of the Senate Commission on Biodiversity Research of the German Research Foundation (DFG). His research interests are on environmental economics as well as on economics of natural resources, regulation and innovation. The results of his research have been published in the Journal of the European Economic Association, the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Energy Economics and others.

Timothy W. Guinnane

Timo Goeschl

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2015

Timothy Guinnane teaches Economics at Yale University since 1993: initially, he was assistant professor (1993-1996), afterwards associate professor (1996-1999) and from 1999 to 2006 he was professor of Economics. Since 2006 he is Philip Golden Bartlett professor of Economics History at the Department of Economics. He received his PhD from Stanford University and worked as assistant professor at Princeton University, before he came to Yale University in 1993. His research interests are in the field of economic history, in particular demographic and financial history of Western Europe, with a special focus on European fertility transition, social insurance and credit cooperatives. Timothy Guinanne published his research in high-quality peer-reviewed journals such as the American Economic Review, the Journal of Economic Literature and the Economic History Review. From 2007 to 2010 he was member of the board of directors of the National Bureau of Economic Research and from 2009 to 2014 member of the advisory board of the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research. Since 2012 he is a member of the advisory board of the Institut für Bankhistorische Forschung.

Kai Konrad

Kai Konrad

(Photo: David Ausserhofer)

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011

Kai A. Konrad is Managing Director at the Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance since January 2011. He received his Ph.D. from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich in 1990 and habilitated there three years later. He was Professor of Economics at the Free University Berlin from 1994 to 2009 and Adjunct Professor at the University of Bergen, Norway, from 1994 to 2000. Additionally, he was the director of the unit “Market Processes and Governance” at the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung between 2001 and 2009. Since 1999, he is a member of the Council of Scientific Advisors to the Ministry of Finance and was elected its chairman in 2011. His research findings in the fields of political economy, public finance as well as economic policy are published in numerous high-ranking journals like the American Economic Review or Management Science.

Wolfgang Leininger

Wolfgang Leininger

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011

Wolfgang Leininger is Professor of Economics at the TU Dortmund University. He obtained a Diplom in Mathematics from Bonn University in 1979, received his Ph.D. in Economics from the London School of Economics in 1983 and habilitated at the University of Bonn in 1988. From 2004 to 2008, Wolfgang Leininger was the chairman of the Expert Committee in Economics of the DFG (German Research Foundation). He is director of the Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS Econ) since its foundation in 2005, after being the director of a Graduiertenkolleg of DFG for 10 years. Furthermore, he is managing editor of the German Economic Review and co-editor of the Journal of Evolutionary Economics as well as of the Journal of Mathematical Economics. His research centers on microeconomic theory as well as theory of conflict and game theory with application to industrial economics and the Public Choice. Wolfgang Leininger published in numerous refereed journals like the Review of Economic Studies, the Journal of Economic Theory, Economics Letters, Games and Economic Behavior or Economic Theory.

Nadine Riedel

Nadine Riedel

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2014

Nadine Riedel took on the position as a professor of Public Finance and Economic Policy at the Ruhr-University Bochum in April 2014. She received her PhD in 2008 from the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich. Between 2008 and 2010, she was a research fellow at the Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation. From 2010 to 2014, she held the chair for Public Finance at the University Hohenheim. Her research interests include international tax competition, corporate taxation, in particular the assessment of corporate tax effects on firm behavior, as well as taxation in developing countries. She published her research in high-quality journals like the European Economic Review, the Journal of Public Economics and the Journal of International Economics. Nadine Riedel is research associate at the Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation and a research professor at the DIW Berlin.

Regina T. Riphahn

Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2011; Chair since 2015

Since 2005, Regina T. Riphahn is Professor of Statistics and Empirical Economics at the University Erlangen-Nuremberg. Previously, she was professor at the University of Mainz and at the University of Basel (Switzerland). She received her Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1995 and her habilitation from the University of Munich in 1999. Regina T. Riphahn published her research which includes the fields of education, labour markets as well as population economics in high-ranking journals, as for example in the Journal of the European Economic Association, the Journal of Development Economics, the Industrial and Labor Relations Review or the Journal of Human Resources. Since 2007, she is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board to the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology as well as of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Furthermore she is a member of the German Council of Science and Humanities since 2008 and was elected vice chair of its scientific commission in 2010.

Kerstin Schneider

Timo Goeschl

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2015

Since 2004 Kerstin Schneider holds the chair of Public Economics and Business Taxation at the Bergische University of Wuppertal und is the director of the WIB (Wuppertal Research Institute for the Economics of Education). She received her PhD in 1993 from the University of Georgia and qualified as professor at the University of Dortmund in 2001. Afterwards she was senior lecturer at the chair of Public Economics of Wolfram Richter at the University of Dortmund. Her research focuses on education economics and taxation and has been published in high-quality peer-reviewed journals such as the European Economic Review, the Journal of the European Economic Association or the Journal of Population Economics. Kerstin Schneider was board member of the Verein für Socialpolitik until 2010 and of the International Institute of Public Finance (IIPF) until 2015.

Conny Wunsch

Timo Goeschl

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2015

Up

Forschungsbeirat des RWI

Monika Bütler

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2014

Monika Bütler ist seit 2004 Professorin für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität St. Gallen und seit 2008 geschäftsführende Direktorin des Schweizerischen Instituts für Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung (SEW) in St. Gallen. 1997 promovierte sie in St. Gallen und war anschließend Assistenzprofessorin an der Tilburg University. Bevor Monika Bütler nach St. Gallen zurückkehrte, war sie ordentliche Professorin an der Universität Lausanne. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Sozialversicherungen, Arbeitsmarkt, politische Ökonomie und Informationsökonomik. Ihre Forschung veröffentlichte sie in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften wie dem Journal of Public Economics, dem Journal of Monetary Economics oder dem Journal of Law, Economics and Organization. Zudem ist sie Mitglied des Bankrates der Schweizerischen Notenbank sowie Mitglied des Vorstandes des Internationalen Institutes für öffentliche Finanzwirtschaft (IIPF).

 

Lars P. Feld

Lars P. feld

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011

Seit 2010 ist Lars P. Feld Leiter des Walter Eucken Instituts und Professor für Wirtschaftspolitik an der Universität Freiburg. Nach dem Studium der Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität des Saarlandes (1987–1993) promovierte und habilitierte er an der Universität St. Gallen. Von 2002 bis 2006 war er Professor für Finanzwissenschaft an der Philipps-Universität Marburg und anschließend bis 2010 Professor für Finanzwissenschaft an der Rupert-Karls-Universität Heidelberg. 2011 wurde er in den Sachverständigenrat zur Begutachtung der gesamtwirtschaftlichen Entwicklung berufen. Er ist außerdem Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats beim Bundesministerium der Finanzen sowie Ordentliches Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina. Im Jahr 2007 wurde Lars P. Feld als Sachverständiger für die Kommission von Bundestag und Bundesrat zur Modernisierung der Bund-Länder-Finanzbeziehungen (Föderalismuskommission II) benannt. Er ist federführender Herausgeber der Perspektiven der Wirtschaftspolitik. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte finden sich in verschiedenen Bereichen der Finanzwissenschaft, der Neuen Politischen Ökonomie, der ökonomischen Analyse des Rechts und der Neuen Psychologischen Ökonomie. Er publizierte seine Forschungsergebnisse in zahlreichen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften wie Public Choice, European Economic Review und Journal of Public Economics.

Stefan Felder

Stefan Felder

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011; stellv. Vorsitzender seit 2015

Stefan Felder ist ordentlicher Professor für Health Economics an der Universität Basel. Er promovierte (1989) und habilitierte (1995) sich an der Universität Bern. Von 1997 bis 2008 hatte er die Professur für Gesundheitsökonomie an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg inne und von 2008 bis 2010 war er Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Gesundheitsökonomik an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Stefan Felder ist Generalsekretär der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Gesundheitsökonomie sowie der European Association of Health Economics. Seine Forschungsergebnisse aus den Bereichen der Gesundheitsökonomie und angewandten Mikroökonomie wurden in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht, wie beispielsweise dem Journal of Health Economics, dem Journal of Population Economics oder dem German Economic Review.

Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2015

Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz ist seit 2012 Vorstand des Instituts für Wirtschaftsmathematik an der Technischen Universität Wien, welches mit Beginn 2015 durch Zusammenlegung eines weiteren Instituts zum Institut für Stochastik und Wirtschaftsmathematik umbenannt wurde. Seit 2008 hat sie die Professur für mathematische Ökonomie an der Technischen Universität Wien. Sie promovierte sich 1992 an der Technischen Universität Wien und habilitierte sich 1998 in Bevölkerungsökonomie und angewandter Ökonometrie. Bevor sie 2003 nach Wien zurückkehrte, um am Wiener Institut für Demographie als stellvertretende Vorsitzende und Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe „Bevölkerungsökonomie“ zu arbeiten, ging sie 1998 für fünf Jahre nach Rostock zum Max-Planck-Institut für Demographische Forschung und übernahm dort die Leitung der Forschungsgruppe „Bevölkerung, Wirtschaft und Umwelt“. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen langfristige Wirtschafts- und Bevölkerungsentwicklung, makroökonomische Konsequenzen des demographischen Wandels sowie agentenbasierte Modelle. Alexia Fürnkranz-Prskawetz publizierte ihre resultierenden Ergebnisse in hochrangigen volkswirtschaftlichen Zeitschriften wie Demography, Journal of Economic Growth oder Macroeconomic Dynamics.

Timo Goeschl

Timo Goeschl

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011

Seit 2005 ist Timo Goeschl geschäftsführender Direktor des Forschungszentrums für Umweltökonomik an der Universität Heidelberg. Er promovierte 2000 an der University of Cambridge und arbeitete dort anschließend drei Jahre als Universitätsdozent im Bereich Umweltökonomik. Von 2003 bis 2005 war er Professor an der Universität Wisconsin – Madison. Timo Goeschl ist Mitglied der Senatskommission Biodiversitätsforschung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Umwelt- und Ressourcenökonomik sowie Regulierung und Innovationsökonomik. Die aus seiner Forschung resultierenden Ergebnisse publizierte er in hochrangigen volkswirtschaftlichen Zeitschriften wie Public Choice, Journal of the European Economic Association oder Energy Economics.

Timothy W. Guinnane

Timo Goeschl

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2015

Timothy Guinnane lehrt seit 1993 an der Yale University Volkswirtschaftslehre: zunächst als Lehrbeauftragter (1993-1996), dann als außerordentlicher Professor (1996-1999) und zwischen 1999 und 2006 als Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre. Seit 2006 ist er Philip Golden Bartlett Professor für Wirtschaftsgeschichte an der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Seinen Doktortitel erhielt er 1988 an der Stanford University. Zudem lehrte er an der Princeton University, bevor er 1993 nach Yale wechselte. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Wirtschaftsgeschichte, insbesondere hinsichtlich der demographischen und finanzwirtschaftlichen Geschichte Westeuropas mit einem besonderen Fokus auf die Fertilitätsentwicklung sowie dem Sozialversicherungs- und Genossenschaftswesen. Timothy Guinanne publizierte seine Forschung in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften, wie dem American Economic Review, dem Journal of Economic Literature oder dem Economic History Review. Von 2007 bis 2010 war er Direktoriumsmitglied des National Bureau of Economic Research und von 2009 bis 2014 im Fachbeirat des Max-Planck-Instituts für Demographische Forschung. Seit 2012 sitzt er im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Instituts für Bankhistorische Forschung.

Kai Konrad

Kai Konrad

(Foto: David Ausserhofer)

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011

Kai Konrad ist seit Januar 2011 geschäftsführender Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Steuerrecht und Öffentliche Finanzen. Er promovierte an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und habilitierte dort im Jahr 1993. Zwischen 1994 und 2009 lehrte er als Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Freien Universität Berlin und zwischen 1994 und 2000 an der Universität Bergen, Norwegen. Von 2001 bis 2009 leitete er zudem die Abteilung „Marktprozesse und Steuerung“ am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung. Seit 1999 ist Kai Konrad im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat beim Bundesministerium für Finanzen, dessen Vorsitz er seit Januar 2011 inne hat. Seine Forschungsergebnisse in den Bereichen Politische Ökonomie, Öffentliche Finanzen sowie Wirtschaftspolitik wurden in zahlreichen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften wie dem American Economic Review oder Management Science publiziert.

Wolfgang Leininger

Wolfgang Leininger

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011

Wolfgang Leininger ist seit 1989 Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre (Mikroökonomie) an der Technischen Universität Dortmund. Er promovierte 1983 an der London School of Economics und habilitierte sich an der Universität Bonn im Jahre 1988. Prof. Leininger war Sprecher des DFG-Fachkollegiums Wirtschaftswissenschaften von 2004 – 2008 und ist Sprecher der Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS) seit ihrer Gründung in 2005. Außerdem ist er Managing Editor des German Economic Review und Mitherausgeber des Journal of Evolutionary Economics und des Journal of Mathematical Economics. Er vertritt sein Fachgebiet Volkswirtschaftslehre auch im Vergabeausschuss für die Humboldt-Forschungspreise der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Seine Forschungsgebiete umfassen die Mikroökonomische Theorie sowie die Spiel- und Konflikttheorie mit Anwendungen in der Industrieökonomik und der Public Choice Theory. Er publizierte seine Forschungsergebnisse in zahlreichen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften wie Review of Economic Studies, Journal of Economic Theory, Economics Letters, Games and Economic Behavior und Economic Theory.

Nadine Riedel

Nadine Riedel

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2014

Nadine Riedel ist seit April 2014 Professorin für Finanzwissenschaft und Wirtschaftspolitik an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Nach ihrer Promotion an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München im Jahr 2008 war sie zunächst für zwei Jahre als Post Doc an der Universität Oxford beschäftigt und dann ab 2010 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Finanzwissenschaft an der Universität Hohenheim in Stuttgart. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen die Besteuerung von Unternehmen, insbesondere die Analyse der Auswirkungen von Unternehmenssteuern auf das Verhalten von Firmen, den internationalen Steuerwettbewerb sowie Besteuerungsfragen im Kontext von Entwicklungsländern. Ihre Forschung hat sie in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften wie dem European Economic Review, dem Journal of Public Economics oder dem Journal of International Economics publiziert. Nadine Riedel ist seit 2010 Research Associate am Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation und seit 2011 Forschungsprofessorin am DIW Berlin.

 

Regina T. Riphahn

Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2011; Vorsitzende seit 2015

Regina T. Riphahn ist seit 2005 Professorin für Statistik und empirische Wirtschaftsforschung an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Zuvor war sie als Professorin an der Universität Mainz und der Universität Basel (Schweiz) tätig. Sie promovierte an der University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill zum Thema Erwerbsunfähigkeit und habilitierte sich zum Thema Dynamik der Sozialhilfeabhängigkeit in Deutschland an der Universität München im Jahr 1999. Regina T. Riphahn konnte ihre Forschungsergebnisse in den Bereichen Bildung, Arbeitsmarkt sowie Bevölkerungsökonomie in hochrangigen Zeitschriften wie dem Journal of the European Economic Association, Journal of Development Economics, Industrial and Labor Relations Review und Journal of Human Resources publizieren. Seit 2007 ist sie Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie sowie der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und seit 2008 Mitglied des Wissenschaftsrats, dessen stellvertretende Vorsitzende sie seit 2010 ist. Außerdem war sie gewähltes Mitglied des Councils der European Association of Labour Economists (EALE, 2003–2009).

Kerstin Schneider

Timo Goeschl

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2015

Seit 2004 hat Kerstin Schneider den Lehrstuhl für Finanzwissenschaft und Steuerlehre an der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal inne und ist Vorsitzende des WIB (Wuppertaler Institut für bildungsökonomische Forschung). Sie promovierte 1993 an der University of Georgia und habilitierte sich 2001 an der Technischen Universität Dortmund. Anschließend arbeitete sie drei Jahre als Akademische Rätin am Lehrstuhl von Wolfram Richter an der Technischen Universität Dortmund. Ihre Forschungsergebnisse aus den Bereichen Bildungsökonomik und Steuern wurden in zahlreichen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften, wie z.B. dem European Economic Review, dem Journal of the European Economic Association oder dem Journal of Population Economics, publiziert. Sie war bis 2010 Mitglied im Erweiterten Vorstand des Vereins für Socialpolitik und bis 2015 im Vorstand des International Institute of Public Finance (IIPF).

Conny Wunsch

Timo Goeschl

Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat seit 2015

Hoch