History of RWI

How RWI was Founded

1926
RWI is founded by Ernst Wagemann, the founder and first president of the Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung in Berlin (now Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung, German Institute for Economic Research), and was intended to be “Department West” of the latter. Wagemann had founded the Berlin institute in 1925 and modelled it on American examples. He thereby laid the cornerstone of independent (i.e. from universities and other national institutions) economic research in Germany.

The initiative to establish the branch in Essen was provided by Walther Däbritz, who looked to follow up suggestions made by the members of the Ruhr economy. He also took over the leadership of the Essen branch. Its aim was to observe the economy of the Rhine-Westphalian industrial region.

1929 to 1938/39
RWI develops its own economic statistics for the observation of regional industry.

After 1939
The focus of attention moved to assignments on the industrial structure of the region and its key branches of industry, coal mining and the iron and steel industry.

1943
On 27th May, the RWI was founded as a lawfully self-governing institute in Essen and took the legal entity of a registered association.

1945
After the end of the Second World War, reconstruction, reintegration into the world economy, as well as the pre-conditions and consequences of European integration all became key issues. The coal and steel industries took on a more important role in the overall economy. The same also applied to many previously only regionally relevant problems.

In connection with the strong demand from the state for economic advice, the aftermath saw not only a continuation of economic and regional research, but also a broadening of nationwide research and a structural investigation into the overall national economy.

1949
RWI becomes a member of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Forschungsinstitute (Working Committee of German Economic Research Institutes), which is founded in the same year. Together with 5 (previously 4) other member institutes it produces a diagnosis and forecast of the economic developments in the German and global economies twice a year (“Joint Diagnosis”, in spring and autumn).

1950
At encouragement of the Westdeutscher Handwerkskammertag (West German Chamber of Crafts and Skilled Trades' Council), the introduction of a craft and trades department adds a further field of research.

1975
RWI starts the development of its own econometric business cycle model, that it is regularly used in business cycle analyses.

1978
Continuing the structural investigation of the overall national economy RWI starts the structural report on behalf of the Federal Minister of Economics, in competition with the DIW, HWWA, IfW and Ifo.

2002
Christoph M. Schmidt takes over the office of president and Prof. Wim Kösters (2003) and Prof. Thomas K. Bauer (2004) are assigned to the board of RWI . The institute expands its research activity in the fields of labor market policy, education policy and migration. At the same time, the institute's organisational structure is overhauled, fulfilling the institute's international requirements, as well as the regular evaluations of the institute's work by the Leibniz Association.

2007
The „Joint Diagnosis“ is no longer provided by the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Forschungsinstitute (Working Committee of German Economic Research Institutes). Instead, it is put out to tender by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology. RWI is part of the new project team “Joint Economic Forecast”.

2016
On August 17 2016, the RWI gets a new name: RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research).

RWI-Presidents:
1926-1947: Ernst Wagemann
1947-1952: Bruno Kuske
1952-1972: Theodor Wessels
from 1972/73: Board of Directors: Bernhard Filusch, Willi Lamberts, Gregor Winkelmeyer
1986: Hans K. Schneider
1989: Paul Klemmer
since 2002: Christoph M. Schmidt

The Institute

Information

For further information please contact Sabine Weiler (Press office)
Phone: +49 (201) 8149-213

Up

Geschichte des RWI

Von der „Abteilung Westen“ zum RWI

1926
Das RWI wird von Ernst Wagemann, dem Gründer und ersten Präsidenten des Instituts für Konjunkturforschung, Berlin (heute: Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung), als „Abteilung Westen“ dieses Instituts begründet. Wagemann hatte 1925 das Berliner Institut nach amerikanischem Vorbild aufgebaut und so den Grundstein für eine selbständige (von Universitäten und anderen staatlichen Stellen unabhängige) institutionelle Wirtschaftsforschung in Deutschland gelegt.

Die Initiative zur Errichtung der Essener Zweigstelle geht auf Walther Däbritz zurück, der damit Anregungen aus der Ruhrgebietswirtschaft folgte. Er übernahm auch die Leitung der Essener Filiale. Ihre Aufgabe war die Konjunkturbeobachtung im rheinisch-westfälischen Industrierevier.

1929 bis 1938/39
Das RWI entwickelt eine eigene Statistik zur  Konjunkturbeobachtung im rheinisch-westfälischen Industriebezirk.

Ab 1939
Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten verlagert sich hin zur Industriestruktur des Reviers und seiner Hauptwirtschaftszweige Steinkohlenbergbau sowie Eisen- und Stahlindustrie.

1943
Am 27. Mai wird das RWI als rechtlich selbständiges Institut in Essen in der Rechtsform eines eingetragenen Vereins gegründet.

1945
Nach Kriegsende werden die wirtschaftliche Bewältigung der Kriegsfolgen, der Wiederaufbau, die Wiedereingliederung in die Weltwirtschaft sowie die Voraussetzungen und Konsequenzen der europäischen Integration zu Forschungsthemen. Die Bedeutung der Ruhrgebiets-Montanindustrien für die Gesamtwirtschaft wächst, vielen zuvor regionalwirtschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen kommt deshalb nun eine gesamtwirtschaftliche Bedeutung zu.

Die  Nachfrage nach wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Beratung durch die öffentliche Hand steigt, neben der weitergeführten Konjunktur- und Regionalforschung  weitet das RWI seine überregionalen Forschungsaufgaben aus und untersucht auch die Struktur der gesamten Volkswirtschaft.

1949
Das RWI wird Mitglied in der im selben Jahr gegründeten Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Forschungsinstitute. In diesem Rahmen erstellt es gemeinsam mit vier bzw. fünf anderen in staatlichem Auftrag jeweils im Frühjahr und im Herbst eine Diagnose und Prognose der konjunkturellen Entwicklung der deutschen und der internationalen Wirtschaft (Gemeinschaftsdiagnose).

1950
Auf Anregung des Westdeutschen Handwerkskammertages wird im RWI ein Handwerksreferat eingerichtet.

1975
Das RWI beginnt mit dem Aufbau eines ökonometrischen Konjunkturmodells, das regelmäßig bei den konjunkturellen Untersuchungen eingesetzt wird.

1978
In Folge der Untersuchungen der Struktur der gesamten Volkswirtschaft startet das RWI im Auftrag des Bundesministers für Wirtschaft in Konkurrenz mit dem DIW, HWWA, IfW und Ifo mit der so genannten „Strukturberichterstattung“.

2002
Mit der Übernahme des Präsidentenamtes durch Christoph M. Schmidt und der Berufung von Prof. Wim Kösters (2003) und Prof. Thomas K. Bauer (2004) in den Vorstand des RWI wird die Forschungstätigkeit des  RWI um die Bereiche Arbeitsmarktpolitik, Bildungspolitik und Migration erweitert. Zugleich wird die Organisationsstruktur des Instituts grundlegend überarbeitet, um den internationalen Anforderungen an die Forschung, insbesondere auch um den regelmäßigen Evaluierungen der Arbeiten des Instituts durch die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Rechnung zu tragen.

2007
Die „Gemeinschaftsdiagnose“ wird durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie frei ausgeschrieben und nicht länger von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Forschungsinstitute herausgegeben. Das RWI gehört der neuen „Projektgruppe Gemeinschaftsdiagnose“ an.

2016
Am 17. August 2016 erhält das RWI einen neuen Namen. Es heißt nun RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung.

Bisherige RWI-Präsidenten:
1926-1947: Ernst Wagemann
1947-1952: Bruno Kuske
1952-1972: Theodor Wessels
ab 1972/73: Direktorium: Bernhard Filusch, Willi Lamberts, Gregor Winkelmeyer
1986: Hans K. Schneider
1989: Paul Klemmer
seit 2002: Christoph M. Schmidt

Das Institut

Information

Bei Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Sabine Weiler (Pressestelle)
Tel.: (0201) 8149-213

Hoch