Function & Organization

Function, structure

RWI is a modern center for scientific research and evidence-based policy advice. Its leitmotif in research is “Individual prosperity and economic policy in the times of demographic and societal change.”

The topic of “demographic transition in economic analysis” is also the Leitmotif of the Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS Econ). That school was founded in the fall of 2004 in collaboration with the economics faculties at the universities at Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen.

RWI will continue to be aware of its roots in the region and its mission to analyze its peculiarities. It is one of the founding institutes of the Ruhr Science Forum, launched in 2004, where the non-university research institutions of the Ruhr Region have organized themselves.

RWI is a member of the Leibniz Association. It is funded by the Federal Government and the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Requirements are changing

Over the last years the demands imposed by funding agencies are growing relentlessly - in regard to scientific and technical quality, in regard to the transparency of the presentation of the results and recommendations, and in regard to the competitive abilities of the associates. Meanwhile not only the traditional distribution of tasks between economic research institutes and the academic research landscape is questioned, but the continued existence of the institutions in general.

Substantive and organizational reorientation at RWI

Since 2003 RWI has implemented a substantive and organizational reorientation to establish harmonized and clearly delineated research and work profiles. Thereby it strengthened the quality of its economic policy consulting praxis through scientific quality. On the one hand RWI delivers the required breadth of the expertise in economic policy consulting praxis. On the other hand it strives in selected key areas – supported by networking with universities and other research institutes – to achieve or retain market leadership in research, as well. Its organizational structure which supports this progress by imparting flexibility is a decisive competitive advantage here.

RWI-Organigramm

Flexible organization in “Areas of Competence”

RWI-research projects are bundled in key areas and further in areas of competence or divisions. The science workers find their organizational grounding in these divisions whereby both multiple anchoring and reassignment are possible if the associate's own research focus should shift. The earlier rigid subdivision of the Institute into so-called research groups has been eliminated and the project managers now have to recruit their associates in the spirit of an internal competition.

Key area “Labor markets and Health”

The two divisions “Labor Markets, Education, Population” and “Health Economics” bring together projects on questions associated with individual prosperity. Their work in the fields of health and education explores fields which are largely new for the German research community as a whole. In the meantime these divisions have lodged a claim to leadership in these core topics by way of publications and expert analyses, this above all in the evaluation of labor market projects. The research data center FDZ Ruhr at RWI (FDZ) is also a part of the key area. It provides micro-data sets, regional econometrics analyses and the content-related evaluation of own data sets. Most of them are related to the divisions “Labor Markets, Education, Population” and “Health Economics”.

Key area “Macroeconomics and Environment”

This key area brings together the division „Macroeconomics and Public Finance“, the research group „Sustainability and Governance“ and the division „Environment and Resources“. The main focus of their work is on questions of overall economic relevance. In the division “Macroeconomics and Public Finance” the Institute's previous strengths in current business cycle diagnostics and prognoses as well as the analysis of public budgets are to be augmented systematically with new topics. In the division „Environment and Resources“ a strength of the past - research  into energy matters - is to be expanded by adding new topics.

The divisions are augmented by the non-scientific departments.

Competencies are steadily advanced

Achieving the objectives mentioned presumes continuous expansion of methodic and substantive competencies. Mentioned by way of example is the fact that a fundamental development in empirical research, i.e. increased application of microeconometric methods, has been carried out at RWI. This happens through further developing its scientists individually and working out new topics and research focal points and by the carefully planned recruiting of new associates in entry level and leadership positions.

The broad mission as defined in its bylaws and the business-like organization of operating procedures make it possible to carry out closely coordinated projects in a methodically coherent fashion and thus to draw additional value from the concentration of empirical economics researchers in a single facility. At the same time the eminently manageable size of RWI Essen - currently with about 60 science workers - makes possible direct and project-related cooperation among the executive board, project managers and associates. This allows to sharpen the research profile.

Quality assurance and evaluation

Publication success and the acquisition of much-sought-after third-party funding provide an unequivocal evaluation of the scientific output of RWI. Its outputs are also subject to continuous monitoring. In addition to a number of internal quality assurance mechanisms external roads to quality assurance are key.

The Scientific Advisory Board with its highly respected members and its balance in regard to the disciplines represented supervises and actively shapes the development of the Institute with a high degree of dedication. It regularly audits RWI in order to obtain a systematic “inventory” of its resources.

Also of prime importance is the external quality assurance process which the Leibniz Association has implemented for its member institutions. In January of 2005 the scientific performance, the coherence of the research program and the research policy significance were evaluated by an independent, outside board of experts. RWI passed this evaluation with flying colors (Comments by the Senate of the Leibniz Association). In May of 2006 the Federal-State Commission for Education Planning and Research Sponsorship approved the further granting of funds to RWI. In 2012 RWI was evaluated again – with outstanding results (Comments by the Senate of the Leibniz Association).

The Institute

Information

For further information please contact Sabine Weiler (Press office) Phone: +49 (201) 8149-213,

Evaluation

Up

Aufgaben & Organisation

Aufgaben und Struktur des RWI

Das RWI versteht sich als modernes Zentrum für wissenschaftliche Forschung und evidenzbasierte Politikberatung. Das Spektrum seiner Themen reicht von Arbeitsmarkt, Bildung und Gesundheit über öffentliche Finanzen, Wachstum und Konjunktur bis hin zu Energie und Klima sowie Entwicklung und Nachhaltigkeit. Es versteht sich als konstruktiv-kritischer Berater von Entscheidungsträgern in Politik und Wirtschaft (mehr dazu im Mission Statement).

Das RWI nimmt die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ernst und engagiert sich unter anderem in der Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS Econ), die es zusammen mit den wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten der Universitäten Bochum, Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen im Herbst 2004 gegründet hat.

Das RWI ist sich seiner Wurzeln in der Region und seines Auftrags auch zur Analyse ihrer Besonderheiten bewusst – es ist eines der Gründungsinstitute des 2004 ins Leben gerufenen Wissenschaftsforums Ruhr, in dem sich die außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen des Ruhrgebiets organisiert haben.

Das RWI ist Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Es wird vom Bund und vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert.

Veränderte Anforderungen

In den vergangenen Jahren sind sowohl im Wissenschaftsbetrieb als auch in der wirtschaftspolitischen Beratung die Ansprüche an die wissenschaftliche und handwerkliche Qualität, an die Aufbereitung der Resultate und Empfehlungen sowie an die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Mitarbeiter unaufhörlich gestiegen. Mittlerweile wird nicht nur die traditionelle Verteilung der Aufgaben zwischen Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituten und universitärer Forschungslandschaft, sondern die weitere Existenz der Institute hinterfragt.

Inhaltliche und organisatorische Neuausrichtung

Das RWI hat sich deshalb seit dem Jahr 2003 inhaltlich und organisatorisch neu orientiert, um ein stimmiges und scharfes Forschungs- und Arbeitsprofil zu etablieren und die Qualität der wirtschaftspolitischen Beratung durch hochwertige Forschungsarbeit zu sichern. Entsprechend bietet das Institut einerseits eine breite Expertise in der wirtschaftspolitischen Beratung. Andererseits strebt es in ausgewählten Schwerpunkten an - unterstützt durch Vernetzung mit Universitäten und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen - in der Forschung Marktführerschaft zu erreichen und zu sichern. Die flexible Organisationsstruktur des Instituts ist dabei ein entscheidender Wettbewerbsvorteil.

RWI-Organigramm

Flexible Organisation in Kompetenzbereichen

RWI-Forschungsprojekte werden inhaltlich in Schwerpunkte und weiter in Kompetenzbereiche (KB) gebündelt. In den KB sind die wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter organisatorisch verankert. Dies erlaubt eine Mehrfachverankerung wie auch einen KB-Wechsel. Damit wird die vormalige starre Aufteilung des Instituts in so genannte Forschungsgruppen aufgehoben, und die Projektleiter müssen ihre Mitarbeiter im Sinne eines internen Wettbewerbs gewinnen.

Themenbereich „Arbeitsmärkte und Gesundheit“

Die beiden KB „Arbeitsmärkte, Bildung, Bevölkerung“ sowie „Gesundheit“ bündeln Projekte zu Fragen der individuellen Prosperität. Sie greifen mit Gesundheit und Bildung für die deutsche Forschungslandschaft weitgehend neue Themen auf. Mittlerweile wurde durch Publikationen und Gutachten ein Führungsanspruch angemeldet, vor allem im Bereich der Evaluierung arbeitsmarktpolitischer Maßnahmen. Teil des Themenbereichs ist zudem das Forschungsdatenzentrum Ruhr am RWI (FDZ). Es bearbeitet und stellt  Mikrodatensätze bereit, die insbesondere in den KB „Arbeitsmärkte, Bildung, Bevölkerung“ und „Gesundheit“ genutzt werden bzw. im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit dieser KB erhoben wurden.

Themenbereich „Makroökonomie und Umwelt“

Der Schwerpunkt fasst den KB „Wachstum, Konjunktur, Öffentliche Finanzen“, die Forschungsgruppe „Nachhaltigkeit und Governance“ und den KB „Umwelt und Ressourcen“ zusammen. Im Mittelpunkt der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit stehen vor allem Fragen von gesamtwirtschaftlicher Relevanz. Im KB zu den gesamtwirtschaftlichen Fragestellungen, „Wachstum, Konjunktur, Öffentliche Finanzen“ werden die bisherigen Stärken des Instituts in der aktuellen Konjunkturdiagnose und -prognose sowie der Analyse öffentlicher Haushalte systematisch durch neue Themen ergänzt. Im KB "Umwelt und Ressourcen" soll eine Stärke der Vergangenheit - die Energieforschung - durch die Ergänzung um neue Themen ausgebaut werden.

Die Kompetenzbereiche werden durch die nicht-wissenschaftlichen Abteilungen ergänzt.

Kompetenzen werden stetig weiterentwickelt

Um seine Ziele zu erreichen, baut das RWI seine methodischen und inhaltlichen Kompetenzen stetig weiter aus. Dazu gehört, die internationale Entwicklung der empirischen Forschung hin zur verstärkten Anwendung mikro-ökonometrischer Methoden nachzuvollziehen. Dies geschieht am RWI sowohl durch die individuelle Weiterentwicklung seiner Wissenschaftler und die Erarbeitung neuer Themen und Forschungsschwerpunkte als auch durch die gezielte Anwerbung neuer Mitarbeiter in Nachwuchs- wie in Führungspositionen.

Der breite satzungsgemäße Auftrag und die betriebsförmige Organisation der Arbeitsabläufe lassen es zu, Projekte methodisch kohärent zu bearbeiten und von der Zusammenballung empirischer Wirtschaftsforscher zu profitieren. Zugleich ermöglicht die überschaubare Größe des RWI – mit augenblicklich etwa 60 wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern – eine direkte projektbezogene Zusammenarbeit zwischen Vorstand, Projektleitern und -mitarbeitern. All dies ermöglicht eine Schärfung des Forschungsprofils.

Qualitätssicherung und Evaluierung

Publikationserfolge und die Einwerbung von Drittmitteln sind Gradmesser für die wissenschaftliche Leistung des RWI. Zudem wird seine Arbeit ständig überprüft. Neben einer Reihe von internen Mechanismen der Qualitätssicherung werden externe Wege der Qualitätssicherung beschritten.

Hochkarätig und fachlich ausgewogen besetzt begleitet der Forschungsbeirat engagiert die Entwicklung des Instituts und gestaltet sie aktiv mit. Regelmäßig unterzieht er das Institut einem so genannten Audit, um eine systematische Bestandsaufnahme zu erhalten. Zudem evaluiert die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft ihre Mitgliedsinstitute. Im Januar 2005 wurden die wissenschaftliche Leistung, die Kohärenz des Forschungsprogramms und die forschungspolitische Bedeutung turnusgemäß durch ein unabhängiges, externes Expertengremium auf den Prüfstand gestellt. Das RWI hat diese Evaluation hervorragend bestanden (Stellungnahme des Senats der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft). Die Bund-Länder-Kommission für Bildungsplanung und Forschungsförderung hat im Mai 2006 die weitere Förderung des RWI bewilligt. Auch bei der Evaluierung im Jahr 2012 hat das RWI wieder hervorragend abgeschnitten (Stellungnahme des Senats der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft).

Das Institut

Information

Bei Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Sabine Weiler (Pressestelle)
Tel.: (0201) 8149-213,

Evaluierung

Hoch